South Thames Foundation School

Overview of STFS

The South Thames Foundation School was established in 2007 following the merger of the former South East Thames and South West Thames Foundation Schools. It is a collaboration between HE Kent, Surrey and Sussex (HEKSS) and HE South London (HESL); GKT School of Medical Education, King’s College, London (KCL), St George’s University of London (SGUL) and Brighton and Sussex Medical School (BSMS). HEKSS has day-to-day administrative management and strategic overview of the School, covered by a service level agreement with HESL.

The school manages all F1 and F2 trainees in NHS trusts in the South London and KSS regions (approximately 1700) and is based in two offices in Stewart House and London Bridge. Professor Jan Welch is the Director of the South Thames Foundation School and is based at London Bridge.

Two Associate Directors, Dr Paul Reynolds for Brighton and Dr Mark Cottee for Tooting, provide local leadership. A team of managers and administrators support the director/associate directors.